CIVIC AFFAIRS

15 May 2023 5.30pm - 5.42 pm

Present: Councillors McPherson (Chair), Bennett, Carling, Davey, Hauk and Thornburrow

Councillor Bick was also in attendance.

FOR ADOPTION BY THE COUNCIL

23/15/Civ – Civic Affairs: Committee Appointments

The report detailed the issues to consider following the local elections on 4 May 2023 and make recommendations to the Annual Meeting of the Council on 25 May 2023. The Democratic Services Manager advised that an updated paper which was circulated at the meeting confirmed the size of committees and known appointments, further information would be provided at the Annual Meeting.

Resolved (unanimously) to recommend to Council:

i. Appointments to city council committees and joint partner bodies below:

Environment and Communities Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

Divkovic, Nestor, Swift, Wade, Pounds

Payne, Hauk

Glasberg

Alternates - Sheil, Griffin, Flaubert, Levien, Howard

Planning and Transport Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

Nestor, Baigent, Swift, TBC, TBC

Porrer, Bick

Davies

Alternates - Griffin, Lab TBC, Lee, Payne, Glasberg

Housing Scrutiny Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

Pounds, Robertson, Thittala-Varkey, Wade, Holloway, Griffin

Martinelli, Lee

Tong

Alternates: Swift, Lab TBC, Howard, Porrer, Levien

Strategy and Resources Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

Robertson, Baigent, Holloway, Gawthrope Wood, TBC

Bick, Young

Bennett

Alternates - Divkovic, Sheil, Payne, Nethsingha, Davies

Civic Affairs Committee 6 (4 Labour + 1 Lib Dem +1 Green & Independent)

McPherson, Davey, Sheil, Healy

Young

Bennett

Alternate - Moore, Davies, Bick

Employment (Senior Officer) Committee 6 (4 Labour +2 Lib Dem)

Healy, Moore, Davey, Carling

Bick, Porrer

Alternates: TBC

Licensing Committee 10 (7 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

McPherson, Bird, Moore, Griffin, Carling, Pounds, Wade

Levien, Nethsingha

Bennett

Alternates - Davey, Hauk, Tong

Planning Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)

Smart, Baigent, Thornburrow, Carling, S.Smith, Dryden

Porrer, Levien

Bennett

Alternates - Gilderdale, Nestor, Flaubert, Nethsingha, Howard

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority - 1 seat A.Smith

Alternate - TBC

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 Labour TBC, TBC

Alternates - Gawthrope Wood

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Audit and Governance Committee 1 Labour + one alternate S.Smith

Alternate – Pounds

Greater Cambridge Partnership Joint Assembly 3 (2 Labour + 1 Lib Dem)

S.Smith, Thornburrow, Bick

Joint Development Control Committee - Cambridge Fringes 6 (4 Labour+ 2 Lib Dem)

S.Smith, Baigent, Smart, Thornburrow

Porrer, Flaubert

Alternates - Gilderdale, Nestor, Levien, Nethsingha

ii. Nominations for Chairs and Vice-Chairs 2023/24

Environment and Communities Services

Chair - Divkovic Vice-chair – Nestor

Planning and Transport

Chair – Nestor Vice-chair – Baigent

Housing

Chair – Pounds

Vice-chair (nb. Tenant/Leaseholder is Chair of Part 1 of the meeting) - Robertson

Strategy and Resources

Chair-Robertson Vice-chair - Baigent

Civic Affairs

Chair - McPherson Vice-chair - Davey

Licensing

Chair - McPherson Vice-chair - Bird

Planning

Chair - Smart Vice-chair – Baigent

JDCC

Vice-Chair - S.Smith